Board of Abatement

The Board of Civil Authority (BCA) are all elected officials of the City of South Burlington and derive their charges from State Law.  The Board of Abatement meets to consider requests for abatement of taxes for various reasons outlined in the book : About Abatements

The Board does not meet on a regular basis but attempts to keep it's meetings to one in the late winter and one in the fall as requests are received.

The Board of Abatement is comprised of the five City Council members, fifteen Justice of Peace members and the City Clerk. The Justice of the Peace are up for re-election in November in even number years and the Clerk is elected every 3 years.  The current members include:

Justices of the Peace and City Clerk:

Peter Taylor, Chair
Patrick Benner, Vice-Chair
Chuck Bolton                           
Jason Kirchick              
Agnes Clift                                                 
Maurice Mahoney
Pat Mahoney
Bob Nowak
Pat Nowak
Allyson Milot-Downing
Chris Shaw
Michael Sirotkin
Michel St. Germain
Lynn Vera
Donna Kinville, City Clerk
 (All Justice of the Peace members are up for re-election in November 2018 & Donna Kinville is up for re-election in March 2018)
Council Members:
Tim Barritt - Term ends 2019
Tom Chittenden - Term ends 2020
Meaghan Emery - Term ends 2018    
Pat Nowak - Term ends 2019     
Helen Riehle - Term ends 2018        

If you wish to contact the Board of Abatement, please call Donna Kinville at 846-4119 or send a letter to:

          South Burlington Board of Abatement
          c/o Donna Kinville, City Clerk
          575 Dorset Street
          South Burlington, VT 05403

Agenda: No meeting currently scheduled

Minutes: click here for minutes and select Boards and Committees.