Board of Abatement

The Board of Abatement members are all elected officials of the City of South Burlington and derive their charges from State Law. The duties consist of hearing requests for abatement of taxes due on a property. 


Agendas and Minutes for South Burlington's Board of Abatement 
To access all city meeting documents, click here.

The Board does not meet on a regular basis but attempts to keep it's meetings to one in the late winter and one in the fall. 


The Board of Abatement is comprised of the City Council (5 members), Justice of Peace (15 members) and the City Clerk. All members of the Board are elected officials. The Justice of the Peace are up for re-election in November in even number years and the Clerk is elected every 3 years.

Justices of the Peace and City Clerk:

Chris Shaw, Chair
Chris Trombly, Vice-Chair
Laura Benner
Albert Gross
Barbara Gross
Sheldon Katz
Jason Kirchick              
Maurice Mahoney
Pat Mahoney
Jacob Martinez
Bob Nowak
Jessica Quinn
Lynn Vera
Cecile Wagner
* one vacancy
Donna Kinville, City Clerk -846-4119
 (All Justice of the Peace members were just elected in November 2022 & Donna Kinville is up for re-election in March 2024)
Council members:
Tim Barritt - Term ends 2024
Andrew Chalnick - Term ends 2026
Tyler Barnes- Term ends 2025  
Meaghan Emery - Term ends 2025      
Helen Riehle - Term ends 2024        

If you wish to contact the Board of Abatement, please call Donna Kinville at 846-4119 or send a letter to:
                  South Burlington Board of Abatement
                  c/o Donna Kinville, City Clerk
                  180 Market Street
                  South Burlington, VT 05403 

Annual Reports
To view the entire City's Annual Report CLICK HERE